Adobe Makes Major Announcements on Lightroom and Photoshop


Yesterday, Adobe held their usual annual event in Las Vegas, Adobe Max where generally they make product announcements. During the event, they announced major upgrades to Lightroom and Photoshop CC. This comes after announcing Photoshop Elements 2018 and Premiere Elements 2018 a couple of weeks ago.

The big news yesterday was the renaming of Lightroom, to be called Lightroom Classic CC, and a new cloud-based version called Lightroom CC. I have been beta testing these two programs for the last several months.

As you may know already, photography websites and group forums are filled with the news and information about the new features added to all three programs. Normally, my blog posts concentrate on my personal observations and tips. However, there has been so many quality articles published yesterday, I am going to concentrate on providing links to three I found very helpful, which were written by the real experts. There are many more out there, and I am sure many more will be coming in the weeks and months ahead. This is a very exciting time for Photoshop CC and Lightroom users.

This article does a good job explaining the name changes and new versions of Lightroom. It is by Victoria Bampton, who is a well known expert and author of books dealing with Lightroom.

http://mailchi.mp/lightroomqueen/the-future-of-lightroom?e=ab0bb0ecfd

Likewise, Laura Shoe is another Lightroom expert who has written several books and authored courses. In her web post linked below, she also covers the pricing for the programs.

https://laurashoe.com/2017/10/18/whats-new-in-the-lightroom-world-huge-announcements-at-adobe-max-read-this-summary/

Colin Smith, of Photoshop Café, is both a Lightroom and Photoshop expert who writes extensively and has multiple videos describing how to use these programs. I have several of his videos. He also flies a drone, and has produced several videos on using it to create great photos and videos. I have taken advantages of these to improve my own drone photography. Here he explains the new features added to Photoshop CC, and Lightroom.

http://photoshopcafe.com/new_features_Photoshop_CC_2018?mc_cid=896b8fea75&mc_eid=dbe0d5fb0b

As you know my prime digital photography activity is with using Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements. However, I do use Photoshop CC and Lightroom. I am getting closer to adapting my basic workflow and software to theses latter programs. yesterday’s announcements are moving me closer to that. How about you?

Look for more coverage on both Lightroom and Photoshop in the future.

Until next time.

4 thoughts on “Adobe Makes Major Announcements on Lightroom and Photoshop

  1. Pingback: Collection of My Previous Posts on Lightroom Classic | Don's Digital Photo Corner - Blog

Leave a comment