Lightroom 5 Class Starts January 8th


Are the photos stared on your computer getting out of hand to the point where you cannot find the particular one you are looking for without a lot of hassle?

Are you a currently using of Photoshop Elements, but have never really used its Organizer?

Are you a current Photoshop user, and find that you need something beyond Bridge to manage the hundreds or thousands of images you have accumulated on your computer?

Have you tried using Lightroom, but find it a bit overwhelming to get started with it?

If any of these apply to you, the Lightroom 5 class I’ll be teaching at the Torrance Adult School, should really help you.

Click on the link below to watch a short video describing the upcoming class.

Go to the Torrance Adult School website to register for the class.

 

2 thoughts on “Lightroom 5 Class Starts January 8th

  1. Don have taken several of your classes. I have Elements 11, use the organizer a lot. I have 1600 family history photos I have downloaded after they were digitalized from prints and slides with a converting company. These were done in batches over several months and entered into my computer accordingly, then moved into two “Family Albums” . My oldest picture went back to 1897. Each picture I set a date of a year and month, I went through all of them and put them into correct chronological order in the folders and Albums. Now for Christmas I am trying to either put them onto DVDS and/or USB flash drives for my 4 children. With each format when I down load them and then review to see if they are in correct sequence, they are not. Something codes them into a sequence similar to the different times that I downloaded them, or whatever messes up my corrected sequence, I even tried downloading onto the USB drive 50 photos at a time in correct sequence . The end result when I played it was in the uncorrect sequence. I would also love to transfer the captions I gave each one, naming relative of 5 generations back. Is there any hope to solve this problem. Light box sound neat, but my lap top is ancient. Anne Fox

    Like

    • Hi Anne,
      Thank you for the comment. Ultimately, you may find that Lightroom will be what you would like use for the long term. However, you have an immediate need. From what you say, it sounds like you have the pictures organized/ordered just the way you want them in the Organzer of PSE 11. The Organizer has all of the tools you need to accomplish what you want. Here are the general steps of what I would do.

      1. Write all of your tags, captions etc to your pictures using the command File > Save metadata to files. Doing this will physically write your captions and tags to the image files. Doing this will make this information available to other programs.

      2. The key copying the images to a flash drive, DVD etc is to use the File > Export as New Files command. It’s dialog box allows you to provide a common root file name followed by a sequence number to each one of your copied files. Perhaps, the Album name could serve as the root name.

      The above outlines my approach. There are some details that that are not included. Feel free to email me if you would like some additional tips to do what you want. You have done the hard part.

      Thanks for the comment.
      Don

      Like

Leave a Reply

