Phantom 2 Vision+ — My First Autonomous Flight


A few days ago I accomplished my first totally autonomous flight with my DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ quadcopter.

Everything work as advertised, but it was scary to watch my $1300 drone sail off into the distance and becoming a little more than a speck in the sky.

The Phantom has a mode where you enter a series of waypoints on the map, and specify what altitude you want to be at over each point. Once you press Go on your iPhone/iPad app, the motors start and Phantom takes off on the defined mission.

For my first flight I entered only two waypoints. The altitude was set at 98 ft automatically. Regardless of the number you put in, the last one is the takeoff location.

Please Note: I just discovered that to ply the video properly, you must click on the YouTube button, rather than the large Play arrow/

There were several lessons learned from this first flight that I will heed in the future.

4 thoughts on “Phantom 2 Vision+ — My First Autonomous Flight

    • Actually Gordon, they are not major, but they are important to me. For example, next time, I think I will use only one waypoint, up and back. Not very interesting, but it will give me enough time to grab a few screen captures to document the flight parameters being displayed on my iPhone. Up to now, I’ve hesitated doing that, because I am so intent on flying.

      Also, I will be able to take more time to change camera settings and orientation. That should improve the photos/videos I take. There are other little things as well. Once I get more comfortable and experienced, I’ll venture out to more interesting locations.

      I believe the camera link to the iPhone is good to about 800m. Also, I believe that the controller is good to about 1500m, but don’t quote me. I’ve paid little attention to these limits since they are so far beyond my needs or desires.

      Like

Leave a Reply

