Flying My Phantom Update


Well I ‘m flying my DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ about once a week now. I’m getting more comfortable, but still flying conservatively.

I tried flying it in my front yard to get a quick photo of my house from a few feet off the ground. I thought I saw 6 satellites locked in, but when I took off it flew somewhat erratically as if it was not in the GPS mode. I landed it unceremoniously  quickly as you can see in the video below.

Today I took it out again. I believe I set a personal altitude record of about 125 feet – remember I said I have been flying it conservatively. It was in the middle of the day, and I could not see the camera view image on my iPhone. I could control the camera OK, but I could not see the image. I flew any way hoping the video and images were actually being taken. Indeed they were. The glare was just too much to see them. I need to get a better sun shade for the iPhone.

The Phantom’s battery was showing only about 80% when I took off. I was just about ready to land when a quite loud intermittent beeping began. As shown in the figure below, my battery level had gone down to 20%. I also noticed that even though it is on the ground, the Altitude shows about 35 feet. I have seen other numbers like 17 feet when on the ground.

After Landing

 

Leave a Reply

