Carbonite’s Sync and Share – A Resource Hungry App You May Not Need


A few months ago I summarized my experiences starting and initial usage of CarboniteRemember Carbonite is a popular and excellent way to back up your important files to the cloud. I use Carbonite as my doom’s day backup to supplement my local backup strategy.

Also in an earlier post, I pointed out that Carbonite does not automatically back up your Photoshop Elements Catalog. You have to manually direct it to do that, which is not difficult.

 I like Carbonite and it seems like a good product, one by the way that I hope I never after to see just how good it is. Carbonite has an optional free iPad app, Sync and Share, that allows you to access your backed up files from anywhere from your iPad/iPhone – and probably all smart devices. I installed it and also the small computer program on my PC.

To be honest, I never tried using Sync and Share in the couple months I had it on my PC and iPad. I was experiencing some probably unrelated PC performance problems and was using the Windows Task Manager to see what was going on. To my amazement, Sync and Share was using 3.8 Gb of my 16 Gb of internal RAM. That was an order of magnitude above any other program/process on my PC.

 I contacted Carbonite to verify that I could just uninstall the Sync and Share program in the normal manner without affecting my Carbonite backups. I did indeed uninstall Sync and Share and removed its companion app from my iPad. As I write this, the largest memory using program/process on my PC is only 118 Mb (OneNote), and I’m using about 22% of my total PC memory.

Task Manager

 Your mileage may vary, and there may have been steps that I could have taken to reduce Sync and Share’s use of my PC’s resources. But for me, I am sticking with the plan vanilla Carbonite that is doing what I expected.

Leave a Reply

