Carbonite Has Completed!


Sometime around midnight of December 31st, my initial backup using Carbonite was completed. I actually started the initial backup in mid-November as I commented on in this post.

https://don26812.wordpress.com/2013/11/21/carbonite-slow-but-steady/

As the initial backup was being done, I really did not notice any performance hits in using my computer. I did leave my computer on for the most part, which is my usual practice.

So as of right now, I am backing up 148,940 files that consume about 486 Gb of cloud storage. The bulk of those files and the storage space they consume are due to photo images.

Now that I have completed the initial backup, I will find out a bit more about Carbonite itself. For example, my video files, which also take up a lot of local space were not part of the initial backup, but I understand  that I can back them up manually using Carbonite.

As I said earlier, Carbonite is kind of my doomsday backup. I will continue to back up my data files and photos/videos in my normal manner. But it is nice to know that Carbonite has my back.

I am interested in your experience with Carbonite, especially how it worked out for you for recovering destroyed local files. Please share your experience and thoughts in the Comments below.

Leave a Reply

