I Fried My PC – Now What? — Prolog


Yes, that appears to be what I did, because I had been negligent in taking the vacuum to the air vents. Although it was some time coming, it happened suddenly yesterday. Is that anyway to treat a father? I have two PCs that I pretty much use for separate functions. One is used for serious stuff like paying bills (Quicken), email, scheduling, and maintaining contacts (all with Outlook), and basic information management (One Note and Access). I also do all of my course development (Word and PowerPoint) and web-based activity on this PC (MS Live Writer). My other PC is primarily used for my digital photography and video projects and contains all of my media files. The two PCs share the same monitor, mouse and keyboard via KVM switch.

I have operated this way for years. When I buy a new PC, I generally move my digital/video work to it, and in turn use the former photo/video work PC to replace my oldest PC for doing the serious, yet less demanding work. It’s this practice that has giving me lots of practice over the years in moving my photos/video collection and my Photoshop Elements Catalog from time to time. As I have written before, I use the PSE Backup and the Restore commands to do this.

It was my “business” PC that failed yesterday. I believe it happened during a massive Microsoft Windows updating session. I am surprised it was done on a Sunday, but there were 17 Important updates done yesterday, and I have these updates done pretty much automatically. I had been on my other PC, and when I switched to the fried one, all it as doing was cycling on and off. Repeated tries at getting it to boot failed. All it would do is flash the power light to orange (green is the good color), flash the DVD light, and then turn off for a few seconds before starting the cycle over. A quick Google search basically resulted in the problem being the motherboard or the power supply.

This morning I took it to a local independent PC store (established in 1983) to have it diagnosed. They did not even power it up. As soon as they popped the case, you could see multiple capacitors on the motherboard had bulging end-caps that had ripped open. My motherboard was toast.

Before I left I ended up buying a very powerful PC, the type that serious gamers us, I suspect. I get it tomorrow. Which leads me to the title of this post. My plan, is to chronicle what I do to get back to my normal working environment over several parts in a similar manner as I did last year describing my workflow when I came back from a picture-packed trip to Scandinavia. By the way, again I did not lose much data, because I had backed up my key and not so key files early Saturday morning. More about that and my new PC in the next installment.

One thought on “I Fried My PC – Now What? — Prolog

  1. This should be valuable to go along with you during this process. I will be learning from your unfortunate experience. Glad you didn’t loose much–drives home the point to back up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

