Archive Data CDs Going Bad Revisited


In my last post I described how my old data CDs may beginning to go bad. I ended the post saying I duped the problem CD and was going to try it in my car. It contained MP3 files recorded as data, not as an audio CD. I duped the CD successfully with Nero. I spot-checked it on my PC, and it seemed to play fine. However, it did not play well at all on my car stereo. I can’t say if the problem was with the same files or not.

The only way I am going to salvage the CD is to remake it from the MP3 files still on my computer. Since it appears to play (at least many of the files) ok on my PC, I won’t throw it away just yet. The good news is the next archive I tested on my car stereo played fine. However, I recorded it in February 2003. The problem CD was recorded in December 1999.

Leave a Reply

