Printer Blues–The Final Chapter


For those of you have have followed my previous posts (Chapter 1 and Chapter 2) on the head clogging problems I’ve had on my Epson R1800, this is the final chapter.

My nozzle cleaning kit arrived from Portugal a few days ago. After plowing through its very detailed yet terribly unorganized instruction manual, I tried it out on my clogged R1800. The printer’s nozzles remain hopelessly clogged. I believe I followed the instructions properly, but to no avail. The test pattern still has gaps in multiple colors. The chances were not good that I would succeed where professionals had already failed, but it was worth the $20 to give it a try.

My next step with this printer is to take it to Goodwill. I could put it up for sale on Craigslist for parts and probably get a few dollars for it. But I do not have the time or the interest. I don’t feel too bad taking it to Goodwill. I discovered I have had it longer than I thought. I bought it in 2005 for $550. I’ve got my money’s worth. I also discovered I bought my day-in-day-out printer, the Epson 1280, back in 2001.

So what did I learn from all of this? As I said in the earlier posts, my problem was probably caused by a combination of switching to recycled inks from the Epson brand, and/or letting the printer set too long between uses. In all fairness to those companies’ from whom I bought the non-Epson inks, I believe the biggest cause was a letting it sit too long without using.

Going forward using the R1800 I got from my daughter, I will stay with Epson inks, and make certain I use it at least weekly.

2 thoughts on “Printer Blues–The Final Chapter

  1. I tried third party inks and got horrible results so I too the print to an Epson rep and he instantly recognized the problem as third party ink and said to get rid of the ink immediately or you will have problems with the printer. I changed the inks out and haven’t had a problem since.

    Like

    • I’m a slow learner, Ed.

      As I posted, non-Epson inks have worked fine in my 1280. The other thing we need to remember is the razor blade marketing strategy that comes into play. Epson makes for more money over the long haul from their ink than they do the printer it goes into. And finally, we did not get into printing our images at home to save money. Online services are much cheaper. However, there is a great deal of satisfaction/control one gets from doing their own printing – at least I do.

      Thanks for your comments, Ed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

