Printer Blues–Chapter 2


In my earlier post, I explained the clogging problems I was having with my Epson R1800. You can see that post by CLICKING HERE.

In that post, I said I had taken my printer to the repair station. They had called me back saying so far they were unable to unclog all of the nozzles. They were going to give it another shot on the weekend, and call me back. They did call on Tuesday to say they were unable to totally unclog all of the nozzles, although they were successful with some. I picked up my printer and talked briefly with the technician. According to him, my problem was probably caused by a combination of not using the printer enough and using non-Epson cartridges. He also said their company only uses Epson cartridges, unless the customer insists on non-Epson brands.

So now I have my $500 printer at home needing a $350 print head. As I said in my last post, I have ordered a cleaning kit for about $20. It should arrive in a week or so. When I get it, I’ll try cleaning the nozzles one more time myself. If that does not work, my printer is off to the Goodwill.

By the way, I was not charged anything by the repair shop, since they could not fix the printer. Their standard service charge is $85. I think what they did was more than fair, since it sounds like they tried repeatedly to unclog my printer.

I see a Chapter 3 of this series to let you know how I make out using the the cleaning kit myself. Stay tuned.

Have any of you tried cleaning your inkjet printers with one of the many kits available? If so, leave a comment and let us know how you made out, OK?

If you find this post of value, please rate it above. Thanks.

3 thoughts on “Printer Blues–Chapter 2

  1. Don I have a portable printer that needs work. Do you feel confident in recommending these people? If so can you give me their name and address?

    Ed Fitzgerald

    Like

    • Well Ed, it certainly is a qualified recommendation, since they were not able to fix my printer through no fault of their own. But they were nice and appear to be quite knowlegeable. I will definitely go back the next time I need any work done on my printers. The company is WeFixPrinters.com. They are conveniently located on 190th St. close to Hawthorne Blvd in Torrance. Their phone number is 310-937-4588. If you end up going to them, let me know what you think.

      Don

      Like

  2. Pingback: Printer Blues–The Final Chapter « Don's Digital Photo Corner – Blog

Leave a Reply

