Be Careful Moving Files in Elements


My Photoshop Elements Catalog has gone through multiple back-up/Restore, conversion, and rename changes over the past twelve years. Additionally, its physical location and that of the photos themselves have also changed.

My hard drives that contain the photos and videos are not that well organized. That does not really matter to PSE, it has no problem quickly sorting through the rubble to find me the picture I want.

But I do want to get my drives somewhat organized. It’s one of my goals for the new year. The primary tool I use is the Move command in the Organizer. I also make use of the Folder Location view to do this task. I do not use the drag and drop method in this view for a couple of reasons. First, I am not good at the technique, often dropping the files into the wrong folder. Secondly, I have heard there is/was a bug in some versions of PSE that under certain conditions, duplicate files can be deleted without warning if they are in the destination folder when you you use the drag and drop method.

So I have relied on the Move command, and almost and stay away from the situation where I move an image from one folder to another that has an image with the same file name.

Recent Problem

As part of my efforts to clean up my disk drives I did move several videos from one folder to anther. Apparently, there was a copy of those files  Or files with the same name) already in the destination folder. No files were deleted, but it appears a “-1” was added to the file name of the file that was originally in the folder. But the shot date of the file (the date you see in the Organizer) was changed, by a few days, (not to the move date) however. Because it was a surprise, I did not document the details. I tried to duplicate what I had done in a test Catalog, but I could not.

So as I write this, my understanding of the problem is incomplete at best. That be as it may, I wanted to fill you in on my experience and what I do know. I plan to look into this more fully and I’m sure there are a lot of forum threads where similar problems have been discussed.

I will continue to use the Move command. It has served me well for many years. But I will make darn sure the destination folder does not contain files with the same name.

By the way, I have purposely used “same file name” and not duplicate here. One reason I did is that my 7D camera filenames are over 8000 now. At 10,000 it will restart the counter.

I always welcome your comments to  these posts. But this time I really hope one of you reading this can help share your knowledge on this problem. Or if you have seen something similar happening to you, please share your experiences.

If you like this post and want to see others, please click on the Like and/or give it a high number of stars.

Thanks for dropping by.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s