Working With My Scandinavia Photos–Part 7


This series of posts has followed my progress and approach I have taken to handle the more than 1600 photos and video clips I took on a two-week tour of Scandinavia, now more than two months ago. Those of you who have been following this series have probably been wondering why I have not posted any recent progress reports on this project. Part 6 of this series was posted way back on September 12th.

All of my travel occurred over a relatively short time span. Since the first of August, I went on my annual backpacking trip to the Sierras, the Scandinavian tour, a long weekend trip to the Bay area, and a long weekend trip to Zion and Bryce Canyon a week or so ago. I came back from each of these trips with a large number of photos and video clips.

Now that I am done travelling for some time, I can spend more time working with my photos.

I have completed slide shows for the various pieces or segments of my trip to Scandinavia. The only thing I need to do now is to add the background music and then publish them to share with family and friends. I plan is to have music from each of the three countries I visited, Denmark, Sweden, and Norway. My first project using these slide shows will be a DVD with menus. At this point, I am not sure which program I will use for making the DVD from my slide shows. I will either use Adobe’s Premiere Elements 10, or DVD Maker that comes with Vista and Windows 7. My next post, and most likely the last in this series will cover this last phase of the project, combining the slide show segments, adding background music, and finally burning the DVD.

With any kind of luck, Part 7 will not take nearly so long to get posted as this one did.

6 thoughts on “Working With My Scandinavia Photos–Part 7

  1. Don-Just got the flyer from Costco and they have a 30% discount coupon for elements 10. They sell elements 10 for $79.99 so the final cost will be $49.99. The coupon starts Nov. 10 and goes to Nov. 27. It wont get any cheaper than this.

    Like

  2. Thanks for all of these posts, Don. Where do you find music for your slide shows? Do you rip CD’s or use iTunes? I used Photoshop Elements for slide show, imported it into Live Movie maker, added music, and burned the DVD on Windows DVD maker. I like their choice of menu styles. Live Movie Maker allows overlapping of music so that there is no silent gap but PSE does not. I noticed that you did not use pan and zoom in your slideshow. Is there a reason that you chose not to do that?

    Like

    • Thanks for the kind words, Jane, and especially the questions. I have an extensive collection of both LPs and CDs, as well as downloaded MP3 files I downloaded for free many years ago now from UseNet or User Groups. Normally I find my background music there. However, for this Scandinavian Trip project, I wanted to use music from the countries. Sweden was no problem. I have a couple of ABBA LPs from my mom’s collection. Demark and Norway were not as easy for me.
      They both have very famous composers, but I know little about classical music. My music interests are oldie but goodies, folk and country. So for this project searched iTunes and Amazon web sites for the music, as well as a couple of other less known but far cheaper off-shore sites. To be honest I am not extremely happy with my choice of music.

      Normally, I do use the subtle pan/zoom effect when in the PSE Slide Show Editor. Applying pan/zoom effects using the PSE Slide Show is the easiest and most flexible of any program I have used. This time I chose not to apply the default pan/zoom transition, because many of my pictures have large areas of water, lakes and fjords. I have found that these can shw as ripples on the final standard (non-Blue Ray) DVD when viewed on a TV. So, I thought I would go with the standard default fade this time.

      By the way, you are right, the PSE Slide Show Editor does not do the best job of blending music. Often, my slide shows are short enough that I can use a single non-repeating song or a group of song I have combined to provide the soundtrack. After I screen my DVD, I may very well go back and replace the current soundtrack.

      Like

Leave a Reply

