Working With Scandinavia Photos–Part 1


As I said in my previous post, I will be posting a series of articles describing how I go about dealing with a large number of photos and videos that were taken for a specific event, in my case a two week trip to Scandinavia. I originally intended to upload this initial post yesterday, but better late than never. I will attempt to add additional posts shortly after I do specific tasks, so that you can get a feel for how long it takes to go from step to step. I cannot string this out too long, because classes start in a few short weeks.

First, let me fill in some background information. On the trip I used my Canon 7D DSLR camera to take both still photos and video clips. The total number of pictures and videos I took on the trip was about 1500+. I’ll update this number after uploading them into PSE’s Organizer. The vast majority of the still images were RAW files with a few JPEGs. All of the video clips are 1080p HD MOV files.

I also took some pictures and video with my iPhone 4. These files broke down to about 72 still images from its 5 mega-pixel camera and 28 video clips.

I took my iPad with me and backed up all of my 7D files to it, except for the last card. On the trip, I filled up two 16 Gb cards and about 2-1/2 8 Gb cards. So you can see I came back with a lot of media to organize, edit, and ultimately share in a variety of ways. By the way, two days before leaving for Scandinavia, I just returned from a backpacking trip in the Sierras that I have had no time to organize or work with yet.

In the next post, I’ll describe the uploading and initial organizing of my images and videos I took with my iPhone. Stay tuned. By the way, if you are finding this series interesting and/or helpful, please comment and rate it. Thanks.

Until the next post…

10 thoughts on “Working With Scandinavia Photos–Part 1

  1. Hi Don,

    Looking forward to how you organize this large amount of media. I have a closet full of photos, slides, 8mm etc that need uploading into PSE Organizer. Keep up the good work.

    An ex-student of yours,
    Bill McNeeley

    Like

    • Hi Karen. One of the hardest things for me to do will be to ID the places I took the pictures. I need to do that is soon as possible before my memory fades, which happens more quickly these days. 🙂

      Like

  2. I sure do! I still need to apply this process to about 3k of photos I took over a year ago on a 3 week trip all over Italy. I had started the RAW to jpeg process, but lost the edits somehow and now have them all to do. They are organized into folders that represent the cities visited, and backed up, but that’s about it. Peg

    Like

    • Peggy, normally the corrections you make to a RAW image in the RAW Editor (Adobe Camera RAW) are stored in what is called a sidecar file. It has the same filename as the image, but has a .xmp extension. When you edit a RAW image in ACR, the corrections you make to the RAW image editor are stored in the .xmp file and automatically applied to the RAW image when you open it. The RAW file itself is never written over. Of course, if you proceed into the Full Editor save the edited version from there as a JPEG or TIF file, then you have that file.

      What I am trying to say is that it is possible in PSE to edit a RAW image in the ACR, return to the Organizer and see the edited version there. But if you for some reason delete the .xmp file for that image, thinking it is not needed, the image you see in the Organizer reverts back to the RAW unedited image. Maybe you lost your edited versions because the .xmp files were deleted.

      Like

  3. Hi Don,

    I recently returned from a trip taking 500 photos using a digital camera, video and IPhone 4 photos and videos. I have already uploaded them into elements organizer and created a slideshow with both edited photos and video clips. Then I opened Windows Live Movie Maker and imported the saved slideshow created in Elements and added music and scrolling titles and credits at the end . I like the way you can choose where music begins and ends in Movie Maker and in some parts hear audio recorded with video. I also like that you can edit video in Movie Maker. After completing the project I burned a DVD using Window DVD Maker. This program has a nice selection of menu styles so the DVD looks very professional when played. When creating a slideshow I always limit the playing time to 20 minutes so viewers are not anxious for it to be finished! I learned most of this from taking your classes and really enjoy the entire process. Thanks, Don!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Working With My Scandinavia Photos–Part 8 « Don's Digital Photo Corner – Blog

  5. Pingback: I Fried My PC – Now What? — Prolog « Don's Digital Photo Corner – Blog

Leave a Reply

