Photoshop Elements Export Command Video


Hi Everyone,

I got back from my recent Oregon road trip a few days ago. I had a great visit with friends, enjoyed being treated like a king, and had an opportunity to photograph some great scenery. I was gone a week and put just over 2000 miles on my car. I am beginning to get a little more involved with my Facebook account. I’ve posted a few pictures on my Facebook page. You can see them by going to www.facebook.com/don.stouder1.

Now on with the real reason for this post. We all know how easy it is to keep track of our photographs and video clips using the Organizer in Photoshop Elements. We can quickly find pictures using categories and tags, as well as several other features in PSE without worrying about where the specific pictures are located on our hard drive. However, what if you are not in the Organizer and want to locate and select a particular picture or group of pictures?

What if you want to upload an image to eBay? Or what if you want to share some pictures on a photo sharing site like Facebook, Flickr etc. What about uploading some images to Costco or CVS for printing? Using these and similar services generally involve browsing to the folder where your selected images are stored on your computer while you are filling out their online form. The EXPORT command of PSE is a great way to collect your selected photos and copy them to a folder that is easy to browse to while you are online.

I have a dedicated folder on my Desktop I use just for this purpose. Once the images have been uploaded, I delete them from this folder so that I don’t have multiple copies taking up unneccessary room on my hard drive. Because PSE copies the selected images, there is no impact on my Catalog. The originall images are left untouched. Also, as you will see in the tutorial, the EXPORT command also allows you to resize and rename you copied images.

Click here to see a short video on using the EXPORT command. I’m still experimenting with different video formats for posted video tutorials. This one is a .mov file and requires the free Quicktime player to view it. It is about 10 Mb in size, so you may want to download it before viewing it. To download it, right click on the above link and follow the screen prompts. If you have any questions or comments, don’t hesitate to comment below.

Finally, those of you waiting for my Torrance fall teaching schedule, I’ve been promised  it in a couple of days. As soon as I know what it will be, I will email it to those on my Torrance distribution list and post it on my web site with a quick note here.

That’s all for now. Enjoy your summer. It’s going fast.

Don

Leave a Reply

