It’s Hard to Get Rid of Things


I am getting ready to participate in our neighborhood’s annual garage sale. It is a big event in the local area. It’s well publicized and people seem to come from everywhere. You have to be very careful coming and going to your home, because people and cars are everywhere on the neighborhood streets.

One of the items I was preparing to sell on eBay or include in my garage sale list was an old slide duplicator attachment made for a RCA video camera I had in the early 80s. I sold the camera many years ago in a previous garage sale. I had never really used the attachment, because the quality of the slides as recorded on the video tape was so poor it was not worth the effort. The technology was not ready for what I wanted to do. By the way, this attachment was for a video camera that recorded onto a standard VHS video tape, so you can imagine how bulky and heavy the camera was.

The attachment itself is an RCA Model FSA 036A Slide Adapter that originally cost $100. Mine looks brand new and is still in its original box with all of the packing material, included the plastic bags holding some of the accessories – some unopened. The kit includes the basic slide adapter itself, a filter, filter size adapters, and slide holders for 35 mm and at least 110 mm film strips as well as a slide holder.

In my garage sale preparation, I also ran across an unopened package of GAF Pana-Vue slides of the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway. Over the years they had deteriorated to the point where the image was almost pure red. At first I thought I would try to see what I could do with them in Photoshop Elements. But I quickly discovered they would not fit my 35 mm slide scanner. They were a bit too big, which probably explains why the package was never opened.

As I was getting the slide adapter ready for sale, I thought I would see if could be attached to my Canon XTi Rebel. Not only did it fit, I did not even have to use any of the filter size adapters that were part of the slide adapter kit. I also found that its slide holder was able to accommodate a slide slightly larger than the standard 35 mm size. With now preparation whatsoever, I attached the slide adapter to the Rebel, put in a tramway slide and, pointed the camera out the window, and took the picture. Some cropping/vignetting occurred. But it worked.

I now had a reasonable good copy of a badly damaged non-standard slide. I uploaded the picture to Photoshop Elements 6.0, and quickly found that not only was color gone, there were a lot of spots etc presumably caused by some sort of fungus, I guess. At any rate, I used Levels to bring back the color, the Healing Brush and Spot Healing Brush to fix the worst stains, and sharpened it a bit.

The result is shown below. This by no means is a good picture, but the improvement was dramatic.

Here is the XTi original.

_MG_1484

 

It now looks like this.

_MG_1484_edited-1

 

There are four more pictures of the tram. Based on these results, I will try to salvage each of them. I have some old odd sized negatives that I might be able to do something similar to using the slide adapter. Needless to say, it will not be part of my garage sale items. In fact the slide adapters position in life has been raised from being stored on the shelf in the garage to now residing inside the house.

Until next time,

Don

PS Don’t hesitate to leave a comment. It seems that is the only way that I can tell if anyone has read the article.

7 thoughts on “It’s Hard to Get Rid of Things

  1. Very interesting. I have soo many slides that I am converting to digital via the scanner. I wonder if it is faster to do it through the camera.

    Like

  2. Ed,

    I would stay with your current scanner. Using an attachment like the one I did worked well for me, because I had no other way to scan the odd size slides.

    However, a slide scanner will give better results. I suppose using the holder would be faster, but it would require more work in the computer. It still would not match the uality of a scanned image.

    Don

    Like

  3. I actually found one of these at a Thrift store and thought, “Hey, I could use the lens adapters for a diy project of some sort with my Digital Rebel…

    Not only does it do all the things you use it for, I have used it as a lens inverter to do macro shots.

    It’s really a handy piece of thrift store ‘junk’…

    Yay!!

    Like

  4. Hi, Don. I am in your Thursday night class 6-10 and missed last week. I can’t get into the website to do the assignment as I can’t find the password. Can you help me on this? I am the gal who tried to download the music and had problems with songs being write protected with license agreements. Can you e-mail me at SRDELL@SCJ.Com and let me know how to view the photo project assignment? Thanks.
    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

