2008 Calendar Project


Well, it is the beginning of another new year and time to print a few picture calendars. Programs like Photoshop Elements generally include wizards and templates that make this very easy to do. But I like to have the entire year on a sheet, along with the picture of course. Unfortunately, Elements only includes templates that are laid out for one month per page. So, I generally go onto the internet and download a template. There is no shortage of free calendar templates that you can download.

This year I came across the following site: 

http://www.pbase.com/455rocket/poster_calendars

This particular site specializes in poster size calendars. Normally, I print my picture calendars on letter size paper. I ended up making one printed on 13 x 19 paper and then printed a second copy on 8-1/2 x 11 paper. Doing this was quite easy, so I decided it might be a good project to pass along here. Here is what I did.

  1. First I went to the web site above and downloaded a few templates. The site includes several styles and designs. The one I chose was for an 11 x 17 landscape layout, with US weeks that start on Sunday and end on Saturday.
  2. I then started PSE 6 in the Edit mode and opened the selected template.
  3. I already had a picture in mind, so I went to the Organizer, selected it, and opened it in the Editor.
  4. All of the templatesfrom this are designed for a resolution of 300 ppi. The one that I used was designed to hold a picture measuring 3200 pixels wide and 2400 pixels high, or 10.7 inches wide by 8 inches high. So, I used the PSE Crop Tool to crop my chosen image to that size and resolution.
  5. Now I had the cropped image in the main editing window and the calendar template in the Photo Bin (called the Project Bin in PSE 6) at the bottom if the screen.
  6. I then chose the Move Tool at the top of the Tool Box and drug my chosen picture down to my calendar template. It automatically was placed right in the center of the template, which is how the template was designed.
  7. I then printed the completed calendar on 13 x 19 paper using my wide carriage Epson R1800 printer. I now have it nicely displayed on my desk mat.

I also wanted a normal letter size calendar, so I needed to re-sample or more precisely down-sample my finished calendar accordingly. There are other and maybe easier ways to do this, but chose to use the Resize command in the Editor.

On the Menu, click on Image > Resize > Image Size.

  • Put a check in the Resample square and select Bicubic Sharper
  • I was going to print using the Borderless option on my printer and wanted to maintain the 11 inch width, so I entered 11 for the Width.
  • The Height was automatically set to about 7.1 inches.
  • I entered 300 for the Resolution and clicked OK.

I now had a version of my calendar that would pretty much fill an 8-1/2 x 11 inch page.

The whole process from downloading the templates to completing the printing of both copies took far less time than it did for me to write this. Try this yourself if you need a yearly calendar. Its another great way to make use of one of the hundreds of pictures you probably take throughout the year.

Here is a picture of my calendar.

2008 Calendar

My two favorite teams are UCLA and anyone playing SC.  🙂

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

