Is it Time for You to Step Up to Photoshop CC and Lightroom? It just May Be


This may be a strange article for me to post, being that I have long been a real evangelist of Photoshop Elements, and long time user of both its Editor and the Organizer. Believe me, I still am, and it continues to be the program I use to manage my thousands of images and video clips, as well as doing the lion’s share of my photo editing.

Photoshop has long been the program that many Elements users either wished they could upgrade to for a variety of reasons. But the steep, upfront entry price ($200+ for a student upgrade) stopped many from taking that next step. Especially since Photoshop Elements does such an excellent job at both managing and editing photos.

In recent years Adobe’s Lightroom program has grown tremendously in popularity. Lightroom was designed with professional photographers in mind as a program to manage their large number of images and provide some basic editing capabilities. In more recent versions, its photo editing capabilities have grown substantially to the level that many Photoshop users find that they do the primary photo editing in Lightroom without needing to ever open Photoshop.

As you probably know, several months ago Adobe began offering the professional Creative Suite programs such as Photoshop CC and Lightroom 5 exclusively for rent/lease via their cloud based Creative Cloud. Many long time users were not and are still not fans of this new approach.

I do not fall into that camp. Even though I had previously installed the box version of Photoshop CS6 and had installed Lightroom 4 on my computers, I opted in to renting Photoshop CC for $9.99 per month for the first year. Shortly after that Adobe added Lightroom 5 to the mix at no extra charge. I have been extremely happy with this arrangement. The ten dollars deducted from my bank account is down in the noise.

Now, until the end of March,  Adobe is again offering both Photoshop CC and Lightroom 5 for $9.99/month. And there are no pre-ownership requirements required. This offer is open to everyone.

photoshop cc rentalDon’t get me wrong. I am not abandoning my use of Photoshop Elements, nor do I think all Photoshop Elements users should add Photoshop CC and Lightroom 5 to their digital photography toolbox. But I know there are plenty of you out there who have thought about upgrading to one or both of these programs. Maybe you already have and are using an older version.

Now might be the time to upgrade. To find out more and/or download the programs, click on the link below.

https://creative.adobe.com/plans/offer/photoshop+lightroom?trackingid=KKLQK 

Let me know what you think about the idea of upgrading to Adobe’s Creative Cloud concept by leaving a comment below. Have you done it already? Are you planning to?

Leave a Reply

